# HIGH DESERT RESIDENTIAL OWNERS ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

October 29, 2020 6:30 p.m. Zoom Online Conference

# **Voting Members/Alternate Voting Members Present**

Aerie: Karl Erich Martell, David Miller; Canyons: Christine Budagher; Chaco Compound: Catherine Smith, Joyce Lum; Chaco Ridge: Ted Esparza, Elizabeth Waite, Kristy Frame; Chamisa Trail: Leslie Neice, Robero Jordan; Desert Highlands: Russ Rhoades; Ron Taylor; Desert Mountain: Michelle Croteau, Peter Strascina, Joe Vargo, Lucy Sinkular, Linda DeVlieg, Mary Martin, William Freer; Desert Sky: Glenn Gaylord, Dale Jackson; Desert Song: Stephen Vender, Norma Argo; Enclave: Maureen Truesdale, Roger Ames, Paul Donahue, Diane Green; Highlands: Mary Kurkjian; Legends: Michael Baker, Eric Frow, Mountain Highlands: Leslie Lubin, Kelcy Flanagan, Stefanie Mahan; Overlook: Michael Shaw, Thea Berg, Dennis Miyoshi, Jon Ledwith; Pinon Point: Harrison Jones, Ashleigh Morris; Solterra: Nicholas Teske, Margo Murdock, Lynn Claffy; Sunset Ridge: Camille Singaraju, Jed Faruki; Tierra del Oso: Jean Craven, Jeff Todd; Trailhead: Kate Mitchell, Sam Baca; Trillium: Caroline Enos, Francis Browning; Wilderness Cañon: Bomi Parakh, Cindy Suiter; Wilderness Compound: Kari Stevenson; Wilderness Village: Carol Welsch, Kristi Duncan

#### **Board Members Present**

Clay Wright, President
David Bentley, Vice President
Tom Murdock, Treasurer
Robin Troy, Secretary
Dr. Janet Brierley, Director
Neil Wetsch, Director
David Williams, Director

#### Others Present

Reg Rider, Homeowner Ray Berg, Homeowner Scott Fletcher, Homeowner Rebecca Murphy, Apache Plume Editor

HOAMCO: Justin Scott, CEO; Stacy Maule, COO; Michael Franciosi, Vice President;

Erin Brizuela, Assistant Community Manager; Lynnette Rodriguez, Community Manager, Marlena Unis, Recording Secretary

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

The Annual Meeting was called to order by President Clay Wright at 6:33 p.m.

# **VERIFICATION OF QUORUM**

A quorum was established and verified, with 51% of homeowners represented.

# **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

The Minutes of the April 26, 2019 were accepted as corrected by the Voting Members.

# **ADOPTION OF TAX DOCUMENT 70-604**

Association Resolution for Revenue Ruling 70-604 Election—Excess Income Applied to the Following Year's Assessments.

RESOLUTION OF THE ASSOCIATION

RE: EXCESS INCOME APPLIED TO THE FOLLOWING YEAR'S ASSESSMENTS REVENUE RULING 70-604.

WHEREAS, the Association is a corporation duly organized and existing under the laws of the State of New Mexico; and

WHEREAS, the members desire that the corporation shall act in full accordance with the rulings and regulations of the Internal Revenue Service;

NOW, THEREFORE, the members hereby adopt the following resolution by and on behalf of the High Desert Residential Association:

RESOLVED, that any excess of membership income over membership expenses for the year ended, 2020, shall be applied against the subsequent tax year member assessments as provided by IRS Revenue Ruling 70-604.

This resolution is adopted and made a part of the minutes of the meeting of October 29, 2020.

BX:	 	
President		
ATTESTED:		

Secretary

A motion was made by Lucy Sinculair (Desert Mountain) and seconded by Jon Ledwith (Overlook) to accept the IRS Tax Document 70-604. The motion carried unanimously.

The vote was conducted via an online poll.

The tax document 70-604 was included in the e-mail packet that was sent to Voting Members.

#### **ELECTION OF VOTING MEMBER CHAIR**

Harrison Jones was elected Chair and Susan Camp the Vice Chair during the October 22, 2020 quarterly meeting of the Voting Members.

# **ELECTION OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Mr. Wright at this time recognized the Nominating Committee: Lynn Claffy, Solterra; Michelle Croteau, Desert Mountain; Eric Frow, Legends. Mr. Wright was the Chair of the Nominating Committee. He thanked and acknowledged the efforts of the committee.

The full report of the committee's work was included in the Annual Meeting packet that was sent to Voting Members.

The Nominating Committee selected a slate of Board Candidates for consideration: David Bentley (Enclave); Scott Fletcher (Canyons); Tom Murdock (Solterra), Robin Troy, (Legends.)

Each candidate briefly introduced themselves and answered questions regarding their qualifications.

In accordance with the governing documents, nominations from the floor were opened at this time.

Cindy Sutter (Wilderness Canon) nominated Ray Berg and the nomination was accepted. Jed Faruki (Sunset Ridge) nominated Reg Rider and the nomination was accepted.

Hearing no other nominations, Mr. Wright closed nominations.

At this time Mr. Wright described in detail the long standing procedures of the Nominating Committee to review nominated candidates. He explained that the Nominating Committee charters states that it can recommend to the Board that the traditional committee process be suspended. Mr. Wright stated that the members of the Nominating Committee were asked this question prior to the Annual Meeting and that all were opposed. Allowing the committee to conduct its review would necessitate the suspension of the Annual Meeting. Additionally, the Board of Directors has the authority to accept, reject or modify committee recommendations. During the October 20, 2020 Board meeting the Board agreed that the best course of action would be for the Voting Member group itself to decide how to proceed.

A motion was made by Bill Freer (Desert Mountain) and seconded by Linda DeVleig (Desert Mountain) to suspend the Nominating Committee process and proceed to vote. The motion carried with 91% in favor. The vote was conducted via an online poll.

HOAMCO verified that in accordance with the governing documents the floor nominees meet the requirements to serve on the Board of Directors if elected. Each nominee briefly introduced themselves and answered questions regarding their qualifications to serve on the Board.

The vote was put before the Voting Members for the four Board of Director positions via an online poll.

It should be noted that the election results were not immediately available due to the verification process.

# **FINANCIAL REPORT**

The financial report was included in the Annual meeting packet that was distributed to all Voting Members.

# 2020-2021 FISCAL YEAR BUDGET

The 2020-2021 Budget was sent in May to all Voting Members and was included in the Annual Meeting packet that was distributed via email to all Voting Members.

(Chaco Compound) to adjourn the meeting at 7: unanimously.	58 p.m. The motion carried
Submitted by: Marlena Unis	
Approved by:Scott Fletcher, Board Se	ecretary Date

A motion was made by Caroline Enos (Trillium) and seconded by Kitty Smith

**ADJOURNMENT**